The Dark and Other Love Stories by Deborah Willis | Review

24876664

Rating: 3/5 stars

This book was strange…and at the same time not…

Honestly, it’s taken some time to gather my thoughts, especially because this is a book with different stories to tell and each one very unique. Also, my expectations when picking this one up was very different because I got a sense of Gothic horror from the title and part of the synopsis and I got a different feeling of atmosphere instead. Which was by no means BAD, just…eerie? And left a little bereft? Some of the stories kind of ended so abruptly that I was just left like.. ‘wait, what??’

I enjoyed the book for the most part, about two stories kind of left feeling like I had no idea what I was reading, but quite a few I not only enjoyed but gave me that eerie feeling of impending doom even though nothing ever really happened?

A lot of the stories left me wondering what happened or wondering if I understood the story right (probably  not) and there’s a specific story where a woman sees a hole in her living room floor and it seemingly gets bigger. The synopsis that describes this story on the back says she’s the only one who sees it, but in the story, the husband states that he sees it too even though its the one and only time he’s ever commented on the hole. Which of course leaves me to believe that he’s caught her skirting around an invisible hole he doesn’t actually see but pretends that he does because… well I don’t know?… It was definitely a strange story and not particularly creepy….just strange.

That’s pretty much my stance on the book as a whole. I know I’m all over the place with this, but honestly, I have no idea how describe or what else to say about this novel other than, go try yourself if you like whimsical surreal stories.

 

One thought on “The Dark and Other Love Stories by Deborah Willis | Review

Leave a Reply

